The UCCI Framework

Another tool we use is our UCCI framework (it stands for Unconsciously Competent Consciously Incompetent!). UCCI is sometimes referred to as The Learning Cycle or The Learning Ladder.

Essentially, there are four stages of learning

  • Unconscious Incompetence. You don’t know that you don’t know

  • Conscious Incompetence. You know that you don’t know.

  • Conscious competence. You know that you know.

  • Unconscious Competence. Mastery and high performance

This learning cycle generally takes you through each of these areas in turn. As one piece of learning becomes fully integrated, and if you are wanting to continue to improve, you embark on the next phase of the model.

Does everyone follow these four stages, or are there exceptions or accelerations? Find out more when you buy or subscribe to our printed journal. :-)

The Excellence Framework

One the areas we explore at Twelve Scholars is our Excellence Framework. It’s a way of defining standards and raising performance. It’s a system that helps get things done, helps you avoid perfection paralysis. 

The Excellence Framework is just FOUR letters... EGSP. They standard for Excellence, Good, Satisfactory and Poor.

Sometimes, it’s really hard to explain what excellence looks like, so we need to look in the other direction. For example, when attending a meeting:

  • POOR... we can all agree what this looks like. It would be considered arriving late, unprepared, get little value from the meeting.

  • SATISFACTORY. Arrive on time, prepared, get some value from the meeting. 

  • GOOD. Arrive early. Well prepared. Gain value from the meeting. A good use of time. 

  • EXCELLENT. Arrive early and help others arrive early too. You're not only very well prepared, but you've helped others prepare too and ensure there are no surprises (no one likes surprises in meetings!). The project take a major leap forwards. 

It turns out that over time... when you stick to this framework, people will naturally improve their performance, and what was once considered excellent becomes the new good, what was considered good becomes satisfactory, what was considered satisfactory becomes poor. Before we know it, our standards have improved and we're redefining what a new excellence looks like.

Introduction to The Dip, by Seth Godin

We start this week with an introduction to my favourite book of all time, it’s a simple book by Seth Godin, called The Dip — The extraordinary benefits of knowing when to quit (and when to stick).

This book has has shaped my thinking more than another book I’ve read (and I’ve read quite a few). It’s also one of my favourite books to recommend and gift to others. It’s 86 pages, large typeface, and some wonderful illustrations by Hugh Macleod from Gapingvoid

The premise of the book is simple. 

  • Every new project (or career, or relationship) starts out exciting and fun. Then it gets harder and less fun, until it hits a low point — really hard, really not fun.

    • At this point, you might be in a Dip. which will get better if you keep on pushing

    • or in a cul-de-sac, which will never get better no matter how hard you try.

  • The hard part is knowing the difference and acting on it. 

What sets successful people apart from every else one else is their ability to give up on the Cul-de-sacs whilst staying motivated through in Dips

Over the next few days, I’ll leave a short blog post every day that reviews this book in more detail. And share some real life examples of how I’ve used this book in my personal and professional life. 

If you don’t own a copy yet, I’d seriously recommend you buy a copy… details here.